Country Profile



Spain is located on the  Iberian Peninsula in the south-west of Europe and shares this peninsula with Portugal.

Apart from the mainland, it includes the Balearic Islands in the Mediterranean Sea, the Canary Islands in the Atlantic Ocean and the cities of Ceuta and Melilla in the north of Africa. It is the third largest country in Europe in terms of area and the fifth largest in terms of population. Spain has enormous cultural diversity and is a country with a mild climate and abundant sunshine.

The 1978 Constituon market the break with a centralised model of territorial organisation,  this has led to an ongoing and significant transfer of powers from the central government to the Autonomous Communities.

The list of Autonomous Communities of Spain is:

1.  Andalucía
2.  Aragón
3.  Principado de Asturias
4.  Islas Baleares
5.  Canarias
6.  Cantabria
7.  Castilla-La Mancha
8.  Castilla y León
9.  Cataluña
10. Comunidad Valenciana
11. Extremadura
12. Galicia
13. Comunidad de Madrid
14. Región de Murcia
15. Comunidad Foral de Navarra
16. País Vasco
17. La Rioja

Autonomous Cities:
18. Ceuta
19. Melilla