General Information

Croatia is a unitary democratic parliamentary republic in Europe at the crossroads of Central Europe, the Balkans, and the Mediterranean. Its capital and largest city is Zagreb. The country is divided into 20 counties and the city of Zagreb.

The natural diversity of Croatia is seen in the lakes and hills in the continental part of the Pannonian Plain in the central Croatia and Slavonia, through the wooded mountains in Lika and Gorski Kotar which belong to the Dinaride massif, to the indented coast and many islands on the Adriatic Sea coast in Istria, north coast and Dalmatia.

Croatia is the best ecologically preserved area in Europe with the second cleanest sea after Cyprus and the largest number of national parks and nature parks in relation to the size of territory.


Updated: 20.9.2012