Higher Education

Government policy as regards to higher education aims to fulfil the local needs for higher education and to establish Cyprus as a regional educational and research centre, a hub for international scholars and students alike. The higher education system in Cyprus is shaped by the European Higher Education Area as outlined by the Bologna Process. Higher Education in Cyprus consists of the public and private institutions of Higher Education at University and non-University level.

Note: The Turkish Cypriot education system in the occupied by the Turkish troops area, of the Republic of Cyprus is not recognized by the Republic of Cyprus.


Public Institutions

  • University of Cyprus
  • The Cyprus University of Technology
  • The Open University of Cyprus Private Institutions

European University of Cyprus

  • Frederick University of Cyprus
  • University of Nicosia
  • European University Cyprus
  • Cyprus International Institute of Management (CIIM)


Private Institutions (Colleges)

In Cyprus currently, 25 Private Institutions of Higher Education are registered with the Ministry of Education and Culture some of which have branches in other cities in Cyprus, besides Nicosia. Private Institutions of Higher Education do not have university status but they offer both academic and vocational programmes of study at the undergraduate and postgraduate levels.


 Updated: 31.8.2012