Key figures

Republic of Austria

Austrian flag on a mountain peakLocated in the heart of Europe, the Federal Republic of Austria all in all covers an area of 83 879 km².

With a population of around 8.421 million people it is not very densely populated (100 persons per km²) – no wonder considering that the Western part of the country mainly consists of mountains.

Austria is comprised of 9 independent federal states:

  • Burgenland
  • Carinthia (Kärnten)
  • Lower Austria (Niederösterreich)
  • Salzburg
  • Styria (Steiermark)
  • Upper Austria (Oberösterreich)
  • Tyrol (Tirol)
  • Vienna (Wien)
  • Vorarlberg

Every state has its own provincial government.

Vienna is not only one of the nine federal states but at the same time also capital, largest city and the economic and cultural centre of Austria. Still compared to other major cosmopolitan cities it’s actually relatively small with app. 1.722 million inhabitants.

Austria has been a member of

We introduced the Euro € on 1. January 2002.


Updated: 19.9.2012
Source of statistical data: Statistik Austria; data from 2011
Photo: A moment of nationalism © Paul Stocker /, license: