Key Figures

Malta, officially the Republic of Malta consists of an archipelago (group of islands) situated in the centre of the Mediterranean Sea. Only the three largest islands - Malta, Gozo and Comino are inhabited. The capital city of Malta is Valletta.

Malta has a population of an approximation of 400,00 people.
The country has two official languages; Maltese and English. 

Traditional Maltese Boat

Throughout history, Malta's location has given it great strategic importance and a succession of powers including the Phoenicians, Greeks, Romans, Arabs, Normans, Aragonese, Habsburg Spain, Knights of St John, French and the British ruled the islands.

Malta is internationally renowned as a tourist destination, with numerous recreational areas and historical monuments, including nine UNESCO World Heritage Sites, most prominently the Megalithic Temples which are some of the oldest free-standing structures in the world.


Malta gained independence from the United Kingdom in 1964 and became a republic in 1974, whilst retaining membership in the Commonwealth of Nations.

Malta has been a member in the United Nations since 1964 and in the European Union since 2004. Malta is also party to the Schengen Agreement and in 2008 it became part of the eurozone.


Updated: 14.8.2012