Public holidays

There are 12 public holidays in the Czech Republic. Except the Easter Monday, the dates of all holidays are fixed.

  • 1 January: New Year's Day & The Day of Recovery of the Independent Czech State (Independence of the Czech Republic in 1993)
  • March–April: Easter Monday
  • 1 May: Labour Day
  • 8 May: Liberation Day (The end of the WWII in 1945)
  • 5 July: Saints Cyril and Methodius Day (missionairies of Christianity who came to Great Moravia in 863)
  • 6 July: Jan Hus Day (religious reformer burnt in 1415)
  • 28 September: St. Wenceslas Day – Day of Czech Statehood (Duke of Bohemia murdered by his brother in 935, now a patron saint of the Czech state)
  • 28 October: The Day of Establishment of the Independent Czechoslovak Republic (Creation of Czechoslovakia in 1918)
  • 17 November: Struggle for Freedom and Democracy Day (Student demonstration against Nazi regime in 1939 and a demonstration that started the Velvet Revolution in 1989)
  • 24 December: Christmas Eve (Christmas is celebrated the day before Christmas holidays, during the evening of the 24th)
  • 25 December: Christmas Day
  • 26 December: St. Stephen's Day


Update: NICM, 07/2011