VISAWho requires a visa?

Third-country nationals may enter and travel within the territory of the Member States applying the Schengen provisions for a period not exceeding three (3) months (90 days) in any six-month period (180 days) provided they fulfil the entry conditions laid down in the Schengen acquis, now integrated into the EU.


The nationals of the following countries require a visa to enter Malta:

Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burma/Myanmar, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Rep, Chad, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Cote D'ivoire, Cuba, Dem Rep Of Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Fyrom (*), Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro (*), Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, Northern Marianas (Is), Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Russia, Rwanda, Samoa, Sao Tome & Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, St Lucia, St Vincent, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trindad & Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Important Note:

On 21st December 2007 Malta joined the Schengen system at the end of a gradual process of adjusting to the common visa regime provided by the Convention Implementing the Schengen Agreement.

The Schengen area includes the territory of the following 22 European Union countries and associated countries: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. Bulgaria, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania and the United Kingdom still do not participate in the Schengen cooperation.
(*) Bio-metric passport holders are exempted from the visa requirement.


If you need a visa what documents do you need?

  • the purpose of the visit
  • means of transport and for the return journey
  • means of subsistence (support) during the journey and stay
  • accommodation arrangements.

Time required to issue visa:

A minimum of 15 days is required for processing.

How much does it cost?

  • Airport Transit Visa (Category A) € 60
  • Short-Stay Visa (Category C) € 60
  • Limited Territorial Validity Visa € 60 
  • National Visa (Category D) € 60

(a) Nationals of Algeria can obtain their visa free of charge.
(b) Visitors requiring an entry visa to Malta and undertaking day trips of less than 24 hours to another country do not need to pay for another entry visa on their return to Malta.

How long is the visa valid for?

  • Transit visa: 24 hours.
  • Short-Stay Visa (Type C), valid for up to 90 days (For single or multiple entries) 
  • Long stay or "national" visas (Type D) valid for visits that are longer than 90 days. (With one or more entries, in the territory of the Schengen State whose diplomatic representative issued the visa, and to transit through the territory of other Schengen States for a period of not more than five days.)

From where do I get a visa?

You should contact your nearest Maltese embassy for the most up-to-date information on what documentation you require to enter Malta.

For a list of Maltese Embassies please click here.


Updated: 14.8.2012